Kern County Library Summer Reading Program

Kern County Library Summer Reading Program

By: Katherine Ross

Topics: Beale Memorial Library, children activities, library, Summer Activities
Posted by katherine144 Saturday, May 26, 2012 - 11:21
Viewed 2938 times
0 comments
Location: 701 Truxtun Avenue, Bakersfield, CA, 93301

Javascript is required to view this map.

Dream Big: Read! Summer Reading Program 2012
Greater Bakersfield Area Branches
< < < •June 4 through July 28> > >
Friday, June 1
3pm Northeast - E & M’s Reptile Family Show
Saturday, June 2
11am Southwest - Japanese Culture Day
Monday, June 4
all day Baker - Draw Your Dreams - Sidewalk Chalk Art
Tuesday, June 5
11am Beale - Toddler Time
11:30am Northeast - Family Storytime
5:30pm Southwest - Family Zumba - Dance Workshop
Wednesday, June 6
11am Southwest - Family Storytime
11:30am Wilson - Family Storytime
2pm Beale - Lakeside School Steel Drum Concert
4pm Wilson - Omnipresent Puppet Theater
Thursday, June 7
4pm Beale - Omnipresent Puppet Theater
Friday, June 8
10:30am Beale - Dream Big: Create! Family Storytime & Craft
10:30am Rathbun - Family Storytime
3pm Northeast - Stuffed Animal Slumber Party
3:30pm Rathbun - Omnipresent Puppet Theater
Saturday, June 9
11am Beale - Barks & Books: Read to Therapy Dogs
11am Southwest - Wild Child Adventures - Bubbles & Balloons
Monday, June 11
2pm Baker - Omnipresent Puppet Theater
5pm Wilson - Big Dreams - Nighttime Craft
Tuesday, June 12
11am Beale - Toddler Time
11:30am Northeast - Family Storytime
5:30pm Southwest - Family Zumba - Dance Workshop
Wednesday, June 13
11am Southwest - Family Storytime
11:30am Wilson - Family Storytime
2pm Beale - Dream Big On Stage: Interactive Theatre -
Bakersfield College Theatre Club Improv Troupe
Thursday, June 14
4:30pm Southwest - Gaming: Fun for the Whole Family
Friday, June 15
10:30am Beale - Dream Big: Storytime with the Condors
10:30am Rathbun - Family Storytime
2pm Holloway-Gonzales - The Magic of Christopher Lopez
3pm Northeast - Omnipresent Puppet Theater
Saturday, June 16
11am Southwest - Working Wildlife with Jeff Lee
2pm Beale - Dream Big: Make an Airplane for Father’s Day
2pm Southwest - Family Workshop: Shape Up for Summer
Monday, June 18
2pm Baker - Party With Incredibear!
Tuesday, June 19
11am Beale - Toddler Time
11am Rathbun - Wild Child Adventures: Bubbles & Balloons
11:30am Northeast - Family Storytime
5:30pm Southwest - Family Zumba - Dance Workshop
Wednesday, June 20
11am Southwest - Family Storytime
11:30am Wilson - Family Storytime
2pm Beale - Wild Child Adventures - Bubbles & Balloons
Thursday, June 21
4pm Beale - Art in the Afternoon
Friday, June 22
10:30am Beale - Dream Big: Fun at the Drive-In Storytime
10:30am Rathbun - Family Storytime
3pm Northeast - Working Wildlife with Jeff Lee
Saturday, June 23
10:30am Beale - All-Day Piano Music
11am Southwest - Dream Big: Dreamcatcher Craft
Monday, June 25
2pm Baker - Order of the Dragon - Self Defense Demonstration
5pm Wilson - Dream Big: Imagine What You Can Be - Craft
Tuesday, June 26
11am Beale - Toddler Time
11am Rathbun - CALM Traveling Zoo
11:30am Northeast - Family Storytime
5:30pm Southwest - Family Zumba - Dance Workshop
Wednesday, June 27
11am Southwest - Family Storytime
11:30am Wilson - Family Storytime
2pm Beale - Kern County Sheriff’s Department K-9 Unit
Thursday, June 28
4pm Beale - Working Wildlife with Jeff Lee
4:30pm Southwest - Gaming: Fun for the Whole Family
Friday, June 29
10:30am Beale - Dream of Monsters - Storytime & Craft
10:30am Rathbun - Family Storytime
3pm Northeast - The Magic of Christopher Lopez
Saturday, June 30
11am Southwest - Omnipresent Puppet Theater
Tuesday, July 3
11am Beale - Toddler Time
11:30am Northeast - Family Storytime
Thursday, July 5
4pm Beale - Balloon Party with IncrediBear!
Friday, July 6
10:30am Beale - Along the Beach - Storytime & Craft
10:30am Rathbun - Family Storytime
2pm Holloway-Gonzales - Omnipresent Puppet Theater
Saturday, July 7
11am Southwest - E & M’s Reptile Family Show
Monday, July 9
all day Baker - Dream Big: Family Board Games
Tuesday, July 10
11am Beale - Toddler Time
11am Rathbun - Bakersfield Mineral Mites: Digging For Dinosaurs
11:30am Northeast - Family Storytime
5:30pm Southwest - Family Zumba - Dance Workshop
Wednesday, July 11
11am Southwest - Family Storytime
11:30am Wilson - Family Storytime
2pm Beale - Save Lives! Kern County Sheriff - Bakersfield Search & Rescue Group
4pm Wilson - The Magic of Christopher Lopez
Thursday, July 12
4:30pm Southwest - Gaming: Fun for the Whole Family
Friday, July 13
10:30am Beale - Dream of Dragons - Storytime & Craft
10:30am Rathbun - Family Storytime
3pm Northeast - Wild Child Adventures: Bubbles & Balloons
3:30pm Rathbun - The Magic of Christopher Lopez
Saturday, July 14
11am Beale - Barks & Books: Read to Therapy Dogs
11am Southwest - Stuffed Animal Slumber Party
Monday, July 16
2pm Baker - Dream Big: String Art for the Whole Family
Tuesday, July 17
11am Beale - Toddler Time
11:30am Northeast - Family Storytime
5:30pm Southwest - Family Zumba - Dance Workshop
Wednesday, July 18
11am Southwest - Family Storytime
11:30am Wilson - Family Storytime
2pm Beale - Draw Your Dreams - Sidewalk Chalk Art
5pm Wilson - Stories by Jim Cogan
Monday, July 2
2pm Baker - The Magic of Christopher Lopez
5pm Wilson - Stone Soup Story Theatre
Visit kerncountylibrary.org for full program listings countywide!

Summer Reading Program 2012
Greater Bakersfield Area Branches
Summer Reading Program is sponsored by:
Kern County
Friends of the Library, Inc.,
and the Friends of Northeast, Rathbun, Southwest and Wilson Branches.

Baker - 1400 Baker St., (661) 861-2390
Hours: Mon 11-7
Beale Memorial - 701 Truxtun Ave., (661) 868-0745
Hours: Tue, Wed, Thu 11-7 / Fri, Sat 10-6
Holloway-Gonzales - 506 E. Brundage Ln, (661) 861-2083
Hours: Fri 9-5
Northeast - 3725 Columbus St., (661) 871-9017
Hours: Tue 11-7 / Fri 9-5
Rathbun - 200 W. China Grade Loop, (661) 393-6431
Hours: Tue 11-7 / Fri 9-5
Southwest - 8301 Ming Ave., (661) 664-7716
Hours: Tue, Wed, Thur 11-7 / Sat 9-5
Wilson - 1901 Wilson Road, (661) 834-4044
Hours: Mon, Wed 11-7
• Read 10 books.
• Record your titles on a Reading Record and have a parent sign it.
• Return your signed Reading Record to the library by Saturday, July 28, 2012 and get a free paper back book provided by the Friends of the Kern County Library, Inc.
Thursday, July 19
4pm Beale - Art in the Afternoon
Friday, July 20
10:30am Beale - Dream Big: Campfire Storytime & Craft
10:30am Rathbun - Family Storytime
3pm Northeast - Dream Big: Dreamcatcher Craft
Saturday, July 21
11am Southwest - The Magic of Christopher Lopez
2pm Beale - CSUB: F.A.C.T. - Local Wildlife Show
2pm Southwest - Family Workshop: Address the Stress
Monday, July 23
2pm Baker - CSUB: F.A.C.T. - Local Wildlife Show
5pm Wilson - Dream Big: Dreamcatcher Craft
Tuesday, July 24
11am Beale - Toddler Time
11:30am Northeast - Family Storytime
5:30pm Southwest - Family Zumba - Dance Workshop
Wednesday, July 25
11am Southwest - Family Storytime
11:30am Wilson - Family Storytime
2pm Beale - Roaming Reptiles’ Show
Thursday, July 26
4pm Beale - The Magic of Christopher Lopez
4:30pm Southwest - Gaming: Fun for the Whole Family
Friday, July 27
10:30am Beale - Stuffed Animal Slumber Party Storytime
10:30am Rathbun - Family Storytime
3pm Northeast - Pajama Party - Stories & Ice Cream Social
3:30pm Rathbun - E & M’s Reptile Family Show
Saturday, July 28
11am Beale - Dance Across China
11am Southwest - Pajama Party & Movie - Ratatouille
DREAM BIG - READ!
FAMILY STORYTIMES
Beale Memorial Fridays 10:30am
Northeast Tuesdays 11:30am
Rathbun Fridays 10:30am
Southwest Wednesdays 11am
Wilson Wednesdays 11:30am
TODDLER TIME - AGES 18MO - 2YR
PARENTS ARE INVITED TO ACCOMPANY THEIR TODDLERS FOR MUSIC, NURSERY RHYMES,
STORIES AND INTERACTIVE PLAY.
Beale Memorial Tuesdays 11am
www.kerncountylibrary.org